top of page

CDPH: Issues an Emergency Travel Order

Effective Immediately

At the end of last week, the Chicago Department of Public Health (CDPH) issued an Emergency Travel Order from states experiencing an increase in COVID-19 cases to self-quarantine for a period of 14 days upon arrival to Chicago.  These states include: AL, AR, AZ, CA, FL, GA, ID, LA, MS, NC, NV, SC, TN, TX, and UT.  The self-quarantine requirement applies even if you are not experiencing symptoms and test negative for COVID-19.

Violators are subject to fines of $100 - $500 per day, or up to $7,000. Essential workers are an exception to the travel order if they are traveling for work purposes. Essential workers, defined as individuals who work in critical infrastructure, are exempt from the requirement to self-quarantine if traveling for work purposes, certified in writing by the worker’s employer and made available for review by authorized officials from the Chicago Department of Public Health and Chicago Police Department. There are other exceptions to the order as well. For example, it does not apply to any individual passing through designated states for a limited duration (less than 24 hours) through the course of travel, such as travelers changing planes at certain airports or driving through designated states.

Information about the exceptions to the order and answers to other questions can be found here.

Anyone in quarantine should follow the Centers for Disease and Control (CDC) recommendations on safe self-quarantine practices.



I commenti sono stati disattivati.
bottom of page