top of page

Update on Emergency Travel Order

Click here for the most up-to-date information.

It is highly recommended that you do not travel at this time unless it is absolutely necessary. Learn more at

As of January 15, the City’s Emergency Travel Order includes 49 states and two territories on the Orange “avoid travel” list. Only one state, Hawaii, does not have post-travel requirements.

Chicago residents are strongly advised to avoid all non-essential travel. As a reminder, the Stay-at-Home Advisory was extended to January 22, 2021.

  • 1 yellow state (no requirements): Hawaii

  • 49 orange states, Puerto Rico, and the District of Columbia (must quarantine for 10 days upon arrival or receive a pre-arrival negative test result no longer than 72 hours prior to arrival in Chicago): see map below



bottom of page