top of page

Deadline for Chicago/Cook County Residents Affected by September Flooding

Presidential Disaster Declaration is for FEMA’s Individual Assistance Program for those in Cook County who suffered damages from the severe weather and flooding on September 17-18 

On September 17, severe storms passed through Cook County and impacted areas in Chicago – particularly the Hegewisch, Pullman and South Shore areas. A Presidential Disaster Declaration for this event was signed by President Biden on November 20, 2023, making FEMA assistance available to those impacted in Cook County and the City of Chicago. 


The Chicago Office of Emergency Management and Communications is encouraging Chicago residents to apply for federal assistance by the deadline of January 19, 2024. FEMA’s Individual Assistance includes grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the storms. 


Disaster Survivors and businesses who sustained damages in Cook County and Chicago can begin applying for Disaster Assistance by: 

  1. Calling 800-621-3362 (FEMA)  

  2. Applying online at via  

  3. Using the FEMA App  

More information related to the disaster declaration for the September 17-18, 2023, storm can be found online at FEMA’s website under DR-4749-IL (linked here: Presidential Disaster Declaration FEMA 4749 declaration). 


Additionally, Small Business Administration (SBA) opened on November 27, 2023, at 322 S. Michigan Avenue. 


For additional information on emergency preparedness information, visit the OEMC website at Follow the Office of Emergency Management and Communications on Facebook (@coemc)Twitter (@ChicagoOEMC) and Instagram (chicago_oemc_911).  



bottom of page